Baroness Karin Taylor de Cameron’s Investiture Dress and Landsknecht Shorts

After taking a break for nearly a year, I came back to sewing with a vengeance. When Karin was selected to be the Baroness, I offered to make her investiture dress. I spent about 50 hours on the design, construction, fittings, and finishing for both of Karin’s outfits.  I based her dress on the German woodcut below.

Here is the concept art. Notice that I made a tiny hat because she can’t wear the current coronet with a wulst.

The idea was to make her a mix and match outfit, where the bodice could be attached to either a skirt or shorts.

Long story short, I couldn’t make it work. So, I made a Landsknecht male top for her shorts.

Landsknecht Shorts

Codpiece

Tiny Hat

Finished Dress

Underskirt

Stepping Up

The Baronesses, Present and Past. Krista Joy Crosby made Karin’s shirt (hemd).

Wearing Landsknecht Shorts. I made all the shorts, codpieces, vests, and hats. I also made my own shirt.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

