Busy Summer

I cannot believe that I haven’t posted anything since July. I have been very busy getting classes together for the Rapier/Costume Symposium…as in recruiting teachers and all the attendant administration involved with getting contact information and class descriptions.

The information for the event can be found here http://acorn.atlantia.sca.org/event_flyer.php?event_id=8e3e46a1 and here http://stannes.atlantia.sca.org/

The event is September 7 and I cannot wait to see everyone there! I am working on a new dress for the event. I’m crossing my fingers and hoping that I get done on time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Busy Summer

  1. Hi, I’m not sure if this is the right place to leave this, but cannot find another way to contact you. I found your article/posting on “Flowers and their Renaissance Meaning” while searching for Rennaissance flowers known as the Flowers of Mary. I thought I had seen a small exhibit on flowers associated with the Virgin Mary at the V&A a few years back, but when I returned to the Tudor gallery there… nobody remembered the exhibit. I couldn’t find anything in their wonderful online collection that tied into that either. So I can see several flowers in your article that people associated with Mary, but what I had the impression from this exhibit (did I imagine it?) was that during the Reformation, Protestant embroiderers perhaps avoided designs with certain images which had previously been associated with Mary. Lilies comes to mind? Does this ring any bells with you? Can you point me towards any publications, web sites, etc? Thank you if so 🙂

    I’m enjoying looking at your blog now! Lots of good work.

    Laurel Shimer
    EnchantedBySewing.blogspot.com/MeEncantaCoser.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

