Pennsic 2012 Recap

Today, while I sit at home doing laundry, I’m writing up a small Pennsic trip report. I didn’t take many notes this year or use my camera very much. I was supposed to stay off my feet as much as possible. Heh. Right. Stay off your feet at Pennsic. I tried.

Anyhoo, I’ll do a recap, day by day.

I drove to Pennsic Thursday night so I could be trolled in for an Intro to Enameling class on Friday morning. It was a popular class taught by Dona Mariana Francisco. It was worth coming up early. I have a 12th Night garb reason for needing enameled accessories.

I talked to Mariana after the class about teaching for St. Anne’s and I learned that there is supposed to be a book on the Cheapside Hoard coming out at the end of 2012. I supposed it is in support of exhibition of the Cheapside Hoard in 2013. From the Museum of London website: London’s Lost Jewels: The Mystery of the Cheapside Hoard, 18 October 2013 – 27 April 2014.

The rest of the day was spent picking up some specific items. I bought some German shoes from NativeEarth and a belt and purse frame from Billy & Charlie’s.

Saturday was my double header in teaching. I taught my German Pouches class at 11:00. I think maybe 25 people showed up. Lots of good questions. I gave my Elizabethan Jackets presentation on Saturday evening. About 25 people showed up. It went really well. Quite a few people stayed both hours, despite the class running until 10 p.m. Thank God Alessandra and Christi helped me carry my projector, notes, laptop and projection screen to University. Alessandra also was my lovely assistant, handling the handouts. I couldn’t have done it myself. A big THANK YOU to them both.

Sunday I had a full set of classes planned but then again, it’s Pennsic. It started raining during the first class, German headwear, taught by Lady Agatha Wanderer and her friend. They did a great job.

From there, I went to “History & Techniques of Drawn Thread Work” by Lady Larissa Mikhailovna. I want to do some drawn work aprons for my German garb. The class was inaccurately listed as cancelled and despite the rain, despite the listing, it was still full and the teach was turning people away.

I didn’t make it to any other classes on Sunday because there was a massive storm and I got soaked. Since I had no dry garb on site, I went to the hotel for the rest of the day.

Monday was my favorite day…A&S at the barn. Alessandra and I got there bright & early to set up. I displayed my German bags; Alessandra showed her awesome weaving. We got a lot of foot traffic. Many people stopped by to chat. It’s always nice to geek out about one’s A&S interests. As always, there was much fabulousness on display. I made contacts with a couple of leather workers from Midrealm. The embroidery was really impressive, too.

Monday evening I taught the second Embroidered Jacket class. Fewer people showed up for that class but that was just fine. (Thanks to my former apprentice-sister Mistress Alina Silverthorne for attending!) I was very tired by then. Night classes were a different experience. I’m glad that I did the classes to see what it was like but I’ll probably never teach at night again. It makes for a long day for students and teachers alike.

Tuesday, I met Jadwiga Zajaczkowa at her “Writing for the CA” class. I gave her a manuscript for consideration. At 11:00, I sat in the “Deciphering Russian and Ukrainian Traditional Embroidery” class. When I confirmed that the class was about symbolism and not actual embroidery techniques, I skipped out. The teacher ran out of handouts, so there was really nothing to follow while the teacher was talking. I bought a handout at Mystic Mail for later perusal. I also got one for my friend Heloise, who is an embroiderer and portrays an Eastern European persona. (Side note: 35 people showed up for the class. Folks, if you want to be a rock star at Pennsic, teach embroidery.)

From the amount of Russian classes on the schedule this year, I’m thinking that we may be on the front edge of a Russian garb wave in the SCA.

At 12:00, I went to “Dressing for Pennsic: The Bog Dress.” It was another rock concert-like class. 45+ people showed up. The class was similar to the peplos class last year. This is another area in which you can become a rock star at University. Teach something that’s simple to make and practical.

At 3:00, I was Alessandra da Venizi’s class assistant for her “Complex Historic Weaving Structures.” I am not a weaver, so didn’t understand much but she had an appreciative audience of about 15 weavers.

That’s my brief Pennsic recap.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

